What are the three island groups in the Philippines?

The Philippines is divided into three island groups: Luzon, the Visayas and Mindanao.

What are the 3 island groups of the Philippines?

The country’s islands are divided into three main groups: Luzon, Visayas and Mindanao. Luzon is the major island to the north where the country’s capital, Manila, is located. The Visayas is a cluster of islands in the middle of the archipelago.

What are the 3 largest island in the Philippines?

The country can be divided into three main areas: Luzon (the largest, northernmost island, which includes Manila); a group of islands called the Visayas (including the major islands Panay, Negros, Cebu, Bohol, Leyte, Samar, and Masbate); and Mindanao, the second-largest island in the Philippines, found at the southern …

What are the 3 island group or administrative division in the Philippines?

The Philippines is broadly divided into three traditional island groups: Luzon, the Visayas, and Mindanao.

What is the largest body of water located near the Philippines?

Laguna de Bay, lake, the largest inland body of water in the Philippines, on Luzon just southeast of Manila. Probably a former arm or extension of Manila Bay cut off by volcanism, Laguna de Bay (Spanish: “Lake Bay”) has a normal area of about 356 square miles (922 square km) and is about 32 miles (51 km) long.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  Best answer: How would you describe the geography of the Philippines?

Luzon, largest and most important island of the Philippines. It is the site of Manila, the nation’s capital and major metropolis, and of Quezon City. Located on the northern part of the Philippine archipelago, it is bounded by the Philippine Sea (east), Sibuyan Sea (south), and the South China Sea (west).

What is the two largest islands in the Philippines?

The Philippines is an archipelago of more than 7,100 islands covering nearly 300,000 square kilometers. It is located between the South China Sea in the west and the Philippine Sea in the east. The two largest islands in the chain, Luzon and Mindanao, comprise about 65 percent of the country’s total landmass.

What is the nickname of Bohol?

Central Visayas (Region VII)

City/Municipality Province Nicknames
Loboc Bohol Music Capital of Bohol
Mabinay Negros Oriental The Caves Capital of the Philippines
Mandaue City Cebu Furniture Capital of the Philippines Industrial City of Southern Philippines
Manjuyod Negros Oriental Maldives of the Philippines
Travel in you